Updated October 8, 2026

Crimson Moon co-op: 2 players, join codes, crossplay, and Discord

Crimson Moon supports optional online co-op for up to two players. Use an invite, Host Game, Quick Match, or a displayed join code; Xbox advertises cross-platform multiplayer, while the complete PC–PS5–Xbox pairing matrix is not published in the checked public documentation.

An armoured character confronting a large tree-like enemy
Official encounter scene; this frame does not demonstrate two-player co-opGame media from the Steam store

Crimson Moon co-op player count and rules

TopicDocumented ruleWhat to plan for
PlayersOptional online co-op for a maximum of two players.Solo remains a complete way to play.
Cross-platformThe Xbox listing advertises Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and Xbox cross-platform co-op.The complete PC–PS5–Xbox pairing matrix is not stated in the checked public docs; verify your exact pair.
LivesPlayers share lives and can resurrect a partner.Protect the team’s shared margin instead of trading reckless damage.
DifficultyEnemy scaling and enemy composition adjust dynamically.Bring complementary tools; do not assume solo damage numbers carry over.
SynergyThe official guide describes synergies between players and recommends coordinating builds.Discuss roles before the mission starts.
Loot distributionThe official public guide does not state a universal “100% instanced” or “fully shared” loot rule.Check the item screen in your current build before distributing items.

Host a session or enter a friend’s code

The official co-op guide gives these menu routes:

  1. Host: hold the invite button shown at the top left, select Host Game, then choose public matchmaking or private (Friends / Code Only). Share the generated session code.
  2. Join by code: hold the same invite button, choose Join Via Code, enter the host’s current code and select Submit.
  3. Invite a platform friend: host a private session, open the smiley-face friends list, choose an online friend who owns the game and select Invite.
  4. Join anyone: use Quick Match for an active public session.

Confirm starting gear before leaving. The Loadout Station stays locked during an active run, including hub returns; found equipment can still be swapped. See mission versus run rules.

If an invite or reconnect fails

The official 1.0.2 release notes ↗ (external; new tab) list fixes for Quickplay, “Game Not Open to Join,” missing Epic invitations and Xbox crossplay friend requests. Update both games, then use the appropriate host/code route above. These notes do not publish a complete platform-pair matrix. If joining still fails, record both platforms, installed versions, whether the host is already in a run, and the exact error.

An account-service login error is a different stage from entering a session code. Record the service message and time rather than repeatedly changing the code or treating it as proof of a crossplay incompatibility.

What “cross-platform” means here

The safest current answer is platform-specific: Xbox’s official store listing explicitly labels the game with Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and Xbox cross-platform co-op. That confirms an Xbox cross-platform capability label, but it does not publish a complete compatibility chart for every PC, PS5, and Xbox pairing.

Verified

Xbox cross-platform labels

The Xbox listing shows online co-op for 2–2 and separately lists Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and co-op.

View Xbox capabilities ↗ (external; new tab)
Check before joining

No universal matrix published

The checked PS5, Steam, support, and publisher pages do not spell out every PC–PS5–Xbox pairing. Confirm the exact platform combination in the current build or support channel.

Check official support ↗ (external; new tab)

Crimson Moon Discord and current co-op help

ProbablyMonsters’ official Crimson Moon page links directly to the game’s community Discord. Use it for current player coordination, announcements, and support-community updates; do not treat individual player advice as a universal game rule.

Plan one useful interaction before starting

A player carrying Sovereign’s Shield can place Angelic Bulwark for both partners. Decide where the other player can fight inside that zone before using it; an ally who has moved away cannot use the protected space. Templar Revive is another documented option for a player who frequently performs rescues. See the co-op build example for its restrictions.

Do not assume every self-buff becomes a team buff. The official guide establishes shared lives and dynamic scaling, but does not supply a fixed boss-health multiplier or revive timer.

Accuracy boundary

The official public documentation supports the co-op structure, not a universal HP multiplier, revive countdown, flask cost, currency split, or loot-distribution number. Check the current game build before treating any community value as a rule.

Crimson Moon co-op FAQ

How many players can play Crimson Moon co-op?

Up to two players can play together online. Solo play remains available.

How do I use a Crimson Moon join code?

The host selects Host Game and shares the generated code. The other player holds the top-left invite button, selects Join Via Code, enters that code and selects Submit.

Is Crimson Moon crossplay?

Xbox’s official listing advertises Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and co-op. The checked public documentation does not provide a complete PC–PS5–Xbox compatibility matrix, so confirm the exact platform pairing before joining.

Does Crimson Moon have an official Discord?

Yes. ProbablyMonsters’ official Crimson Moon page links to the Crimson Moon Official Discord ↗ (external; new tab).

Does Crimson Moon have couch co-op or split screen?

PS5 is listed as one local player and up to two online players, not a two-player couch mode. The PlayStation Store listing ↗ (external; new tab) also requires PS Plus for online play. Connecting a second controller is therefore not the documented way to play together on PS5.

The publisher’s documented co-op mode is online. For a shared run, each player joins an online session using the routes above. No local split-screen mode is established by the checked PC or Xbox documentation either; this page does not turn that absence into a tested claim for every platform.

Online co-op, local co-op and crossplay answer different questions. The crossplay section retains the limits of the published platform information.

For the latest released and planned co-op fixes, check the official update timeline.

Cannot collect a Lore Scroll in co-op?

Hotfix 1.0.2 lists a fix for the joining player being unable to collect Lore Scrolls and advance their related quests. This is now a released fix, replacing the September 24 plan.

If it still happens on 1.0.2, compare what the host and client see at the same scroll. Record both versions, the mission, scroll name or location, and whether the quest log changes for either player. A short clip helps distinguish no interaction prompt from a pickup that fails to register. Send it to official player support ↗ (external; new tab).

Can you pause a co-op run and resume with the same gear?

Do not rely on a guaranteed joint resume with all gear and buffs intact. Although 1.0.2 lists a client-gear fix, an October 3 player report and October 5 developer reply ↗ (external; new tab) describes a paused run from before the patch resuming with starter gear. The developer passed the report to the team; no recovery procedure was supplied.

A separate pause-and-resume discussion ↗ (external; new tab) reports lost client gear and buffs too. These reports do not prove every resumed run fails, but they rule out treating the release-note fix as a universal guarantee.

  1. Before a break, record both players’ equipment, active Boons, mission stage and game version.
  2. After reconnecting, compare the client’s loadout before entering combat. Do not assume a successful connection preserved the run setup.
  3. If equipment reverted, preserve the report details and stop before committing to a difficult encounter. No verified menu sequence restoring the old gear is established here.

The older 1.0.1 statement that a client can continue solo does not itself promise that two players can resume together. For broader progress protection, use the save precautions.

Further reference: Official co-op guide ↗ (external; new tab) · Official PlayStation co-op listing ↗ (external; new tab).